Changes to the nominated entries for the FEI Eventing European Championships

23rd Jul 2019

The British Equestrian Federation (BEF) is today announcing changes to the nominated entries for the FEI Eventing European Championships , taking place in Luhmühlen from 28 August to 1 September.

William Fox-Pitt and Little Fire, Harry Meade and Away Cruising, and Nicola Wilson and Bulana have all been withdrawn from the nominated entries list.

"Sadly, Little Fire managed to bruise a hind cannon bone post-Badminton,” commented William. “There is no ligament or tendon damage to be found but he now needs to have an easy time, meaning he will miss any opportunity of Europeans selection.  He is a young horse with lots to look forward to, and I’m hoping the disappointment will be very short-lived."

“Away Cruising has missed a bit of work and sadly the European Championships comes too soon for him to target,” commented Harry. “We’re considering his options for the rest of the season, but with the Olympics next year in mind, our priority is to have him in the best possible form in the spring. It’s a great shame, but we’ll be cheering on the Brits at the Europeans next month.”

On her withdrawal from the list, Nicola commented: “It was an honour to have been nominated for the European Championships, and this is a huge disappointment for Bulana, and for her owners James and Jo Lambert. However, due to multiple fractures in my neck sustained in a fall from a young horse in Arville, I’m sadly unable to compete for the rest of this season. I’d like to thank my owners, the World Class staff, my home staff and my family, friends and the eventing community for all their support, and look forward to getting back out again next season after a busy winter preparing.”

William, Harry and Nicola have been replaced on the nominated entries list by Ben Hobday with Jane Chambers and his own Shadow Man, Imogen Murray with Aivar Ward and the M S Team’s Ivar Gooden, and Izzy Taylor with Gary Power’s PSH Gazelle.

In alphabetical order by athlete surname, the nominated entries list is now as follows…

  • Alex Bragg with Mr and Mrs Ellicott’s 15-year-old gelding Zagreb
  • Sarah Bullimore with Christopher and Susan Gillespie and Brett Bullimore’s 15-year-old gelding Reve du Rouet
  • Laura Collett with Karen Bartlett, Keith Scott and her own 10-year-old- gelding London 52
  • Kristina Cook with Elisabeth Murdoch’s 12-year-old gelding Billy The Red
  • Piggy French with Jayne Mcgivern’s 12-year-old gelding Quarrycrest Echo and Trevor Dickens 14-year-old mare Vanir Kamira
  • Pippa Funnell with her own and Marek Sebestak’s 12-year-old gelding Majas Hope
  • Ben Hobday with Jane Chambers and his own nine-year-old chestnut gelding Shadow Man
  • Richard Jones with his own, Dinah Saunders and Sandra Martin’s 12-year-old gelding Alfies Clover
  • Kitty King with Diana Bown, Sally Eyre, Samantha Wilson and Sally Lloyd-Baker’s 10-year-old gelding Vendredi Biats
  • Tom McEwen with Barbara Cooper’s 14-year-old gelding Figaro Van Het Broekxhof and Fred and Penny Barker, Jane Inns and Alison McEwen’s 12-year-old gelding Toledo de Kerser
  • Imogen Murray  with Aivar Ward and the M S Team’s 12-year-old bay gelding Ivar Gooden
  • Gemma Tattersall with The Soul Syndicate’s 16-year-old gelding Arctic Soul and Christopher Stone’s 11-year-old mare Jalapeno III
  • Izzy Taylor with Gary Power’s 11-year-old bay mare PSH Gazelle
  • Oliver Townend with Karyn Shuter, Angela Hislop and Val Ryan’s 12-year-old gelding Ballaghmor Class and Angela Hislop’s 14-year-old gelding Cooley Master Class