Young Talent announced for World Class Development Programme

1st Dec 2014

The British Equestrian Federation have today announced the athletes who have been selected onto the 2014-2016 UK Sport National Lottery funded World Class Development Programme.

With selection across each of the three Olympic sports – dressage, eventing and showjumping and the Paralympic sport of para-equestrian dressage, this year has seen one of the largest intakes since the Programme’s inception, as 49 young athletes come on board ahead of the 2015 season. The Programme looks to provide coaching and support to athletes – through human and equine sports science, nutrition and sports psychology – as part of an established training pathway.

Gordon Burton, Head of Performance for the BEF commented; “This year’s applicants raised the bar yet again and we saw some exceptional talent coming forward during our selection trials. It is great to see such a depth and breadth of ability coming up through the ranks and bodes well for the future of equestrian sport in the UK."


Hannah Biggs from Dorset
Rebecca Edwards from Berkshire
Maria Eilberg from Worcestershire
Lara Griffith from Gloucestershire
Alex Hardwick from Hertfordshire
Emily Harris from Hampshire
Olivia Oakeley from Hampshire
Alice Oppenheimer from Hampshire
Maisie Scruton from East Yorkshire
Ryan Todd from West Yorkshire
Hayley Watson-Greaves from Gloucestershire


Jodie Amos from Warwickshire
Sophie Beaty from Northamptonshire
Rosalind Canter from Lincolnshire
Emilie Chandler from Leicestershire
Laura Collett from Berkshire
David Doel from Wiltshire
Millie Dumas from Somerset
Harry Dzenis from Surrey
Sam Ecroyd from Cheshire
William Furlong from East Sussex
Flora Harris from Berkshire
Yasmin Ingham from Isle of Man
Tom Jackson from Kent
Tom McEwen from Wiltshire
Harry Meade from Wiltshire
Wills Oakden from Scotland
Holly Woodhead from Lincolnshire


Natasha Adkinson from Lincolnshire
Heather Bennett from Humberside
Emma Douglas from Buckinghamshire
Ashleigh Jones from West Midlands
Erin Orford from Buckinghamshire
Isobelle Palmer from West Yorkshire


Millie Allen from Cleveland
Pippa Allen from Cleveland
Joe Clayton from West Yorkshire
Holly Gillott from Leicestershire
Jessica Mendoza from Wiltshire
Dan Neilson from Essex
Emma O’Dwyer from Gloucestershire
Spencer Roe from Lincolnshire
Jake Saywell from Nottinghamshire
Louise Saywell from Nottinghamshire
Beth Vernon from Nottinghamshire
Emily Ward from Cheshire
George Whitaker from West Yorkshire
William Whitaker from West Yorkshire
Chloe Winchester from Suffolk

The Programme underpins the World Class Performance Programme and has been funded by the Department for Culture, Media and Sport, through Exchequer and National Lottery funds via UK Sport since 1998.