Lewis Carrier

Lewis Carrier  Lewis Carrier
Rider Lewis Carrier
D.O.B Unknown
Lives Norfolk
Lewis Carrier

Biography

I was born in Buckinghamshire but my home county is Norfolk.  My parents were in the military so we have lived all over the country.  My family are not horsey at all so it was by accident that I fell into the equestrian world.  The sport has pushed me further south west as the years have gone by, from the Eilberg’s in Worcestershire for four and a half years until I moved to Devon with Anna Ross in late 2018.   I attended the Kings School in Ely between the school years of six to eleven and pursued my interest in music.  I was a member of the Ely Cathedral Chapel Choir and staring in countless productions which the drama and music part of the school put on.  Whilst in school I dabbled in jumping and eventing with ponies, I was always a keen athlete competing in all types of sports making it to county athletics and National X-country running.  After I completed my GCSE’s I made the choice to pursue dressage professionally and attended Hartpury College where I could train my young horse Diego alongside my studies.  During my time at Hartpury I trained mainly with Nick Burton, Stef Eardley and even had a training session with Carl Hester.  My time at Hartpury was short lived as I did some work experience at the Eilberg’s in a half term when I was offered a job and took it.  Over the years Diego and I have been quite successful. We have won two regional titles and won the Elementary Silver Winter Championship at Hartpury in 2015. We have had a number of top placings at Premier League, High Profile and International competitions.  I was massively privileged to be a part of the 2018 Young Rider European Team with Diego where we gained a top ten placing.  The most recent success was being invited to compete in the Future Elite Dressage Horse competition at HOYS competing alongside some of the best riders in the country at an incredible arena with an amazing atmosphere.  

In my spare time I love a good movie at the cinema or at home.  Picking my favourite movie would be too hard as I enjoy many different genres, from action, sci-fi to rom-com and even horror.  I pretty much eat anything I can get my hands on and I love to try new types of food all of the time.  I also love listening to all types of music: rock, especially artists like the Foo Fighters, ACDC and of course Queen, electronic/dance music like Nero, Oliver Heldens and Avicii.  I think I’m quite a romantic as I like to listen to artists such as Barry White, Al Green and Etta James.   

Being at Anna Ross’s I train many different horses from week to week.  I work mainly with three horses that I am able to compete at the moment; the first of course being the Carrier family owned Diego. Diego and I have been a partnership since he was just four years old and he is now eleven and training Grand Prix.  Diego is quite a character; he is excitable a lot of the time and yet he is a really cuddly chap in the stable.  The second horse I compete regularly is Elite Dressage’s Toska Too.  Blossom, as she is known in the stable, is another horse who loves a cuddle and when it comes to the arena this 5yr old is quite a talent, which you would expect looking at her family tree.  Blossom is competing at 5yr old level, Novice/Elementary where she will compete at the Summer Regionals, she already has a change each way and we hope she will be a star when it comes to the 7yr old Young Horse Championships.  The third horse is Anna Ross’s own horse Delgado.  Delgado is a big horse with big talent and a big appetite, this horse will quite literally eat anything that is on the side of the arena!  He will hopefully bring Anna and me success in the next couple of years where he will mature at Grand Prix and U25 Grand Prix level.