Lucy Amy

Lucy Amy  Lucy Amy
Rider Lucy Amy
D.O.B Jan 2001
Lucy Amy

Biography

I was born and brought up in Jersey, Channel Islands where my family has run a livery business for the last 50 years, so getting into horses was inevitable.

I have three older brothers, who all rode, but only myself and my eldest brother Andrew continues riding past childhood.

I did the usual stuff; Pony club, showing, drag hunting and my favourite at the time which was showjumping. I was about 11 years old when I did my first dressage test, my pony was called Goldesborough Noble Heir (Dudley) who was a beautiful 13.2hh show hunter. I was persuaded to do a dressage test on him and after getting over 73% at my first attempt, I was hooked.

My favourite way to relax is by going back home to Jersey for the weekend, where I can meet up with my old school friends and go to the beach. Since I live over here alone my parents come over to England on a regular basis to support me during competitions and after a big competition we normally celebrate by going to my favourite restaurant chain, Wagamama.

My first big win was in 2014 on my then 5 year old show jumper Rudy, who won the Prelim Regionals and Novice restricted at Sparsholt Equine Centre, we then went on to become National Preliminary Champions and Reserve Novice at my first ever National Championships at Stoneleigh. Rudy is now 10 and acting more like a youngster than when we did our first Nationals, he definitely enjoys learning new movements and gets more excited the harder it gets. He is currently competing successfully at PSG and hopefully we will be able to do an International at Small Tour level towards the end of the year as two time changes are still a bit too exciting to do in a test.

Extra Time (Hughie) is also 10 years old, I brought him over with me when I first moved over to the UK in 2016 when he was competing at Advanced Medium. In late 2017 we both competed in our first PSG and got selected to be in the Young Rider Prime Squad. In 2018 I rode for GB for the first time in Young Rider classes, where we were selected to be first reserve for the Europeans. At Hickstead CDI last year we won all three of the YR classes with over 70% and I gained my PB of over 73%. Hughie is now competing at Inter 2, so I am aiming to compete in U25 classes with him next year.

My youngest horse over here is a 5 year old called Jaliva (Mary) who despite the name is 100% a tomboy. We both competed in our first young horse classes where she won the qualifiers for both the Nationals and Hickstead. She is a very quick learner and seems to know everything before I teach her making my life very easy and although the was backed early on this year she has come on leaps and bounds in the few months that she has been ridden.