Annabel Carthy

Annabel Carthy  Annabel Carthy
Rider Annabel Carthy
D.O.B Unknown
Lives Cheshire
Annabel Carthy

Biography

My first main memory of riding is getting eliminated at my first ever one day event, when I was seven, on my naughty loan pony Lucy. We may have not made it past the third cross country fence, however I did get a score of 17.5 in the dressage. This introduction to eventing has taught me two important lessons; 1) that it is very much about getting all three phases right on the same day and 2) dressage is not that simple (17.5 is still my best ever score)! I have come up through the ranks as part of the u18 programme. I missed out on Pony Trials due to a growth spurt at 13 shooting me to over 6ft! My last ever event on my 14.2hh pony, Simon, was at Weston Park BE100u18 championships. After a competitive dressage and showjumping I set out the start box gunning for a top placing, only for my feet to get stuck in a brush at fence 5 resulting in Simon making it to the other side of the fence, and me stood on top of it feeling rather embarrassed! Being a part of the East Midlands u18 region was like being in a huge family and my experience culminated in a 3rd place finish at Frickley CCJ* Championships in 2018 on 'region legend' Painted Moon, whom I rode for part of the season whilst his jockey recovered from a skiing injury.

Away from riding I enjoy playing and listening to music. I play the trumpet and love to challenge myself with new repertoire. I had some fantastic performance opportunities whilst in Sixth Form such as playing solos at the Royal Northern College of Music, the Bridgewater Hall and around Berlin on a tour. A definite highlight for me would have to be playing the Last Post annually. Playing such a poignant piece at a time when Manchester falls silent is extremely humbling.

At home I like to spend time cooking and baking. My most recent speciality would have to be the 'flat egg' which is most easily described as an egg burrito! I use a pancake pan and pour scrambled egg mix in to cover the bottom. Then as it cooks add toppings such as cheese, ham and tomato. Fold and eat! Keeps me full all day and is  full of protein.

Come September, I have a place to study Economics at Loughborough university. I am looking forwards to gaining more independence through living away from home, as well as the inevitable challenge of balancing study with eventing! During my gap year I have worked part time in a local pub. As well as assisting in funding my eventing campaign, it has improved my confidence and communication skills no end. Previously I found simple tasks such as picking up and talking over the phone a challenge due to being naturally shy, yet this experience has developed me into a more extroverted person and I will now happily talk to anyone!

I currently have two main horses that I event, 10yo Renegade Marmalade (Marms) and 6yo Indigo Mist (Beanie). Marms would more than happily sit on the sofa and watch Eastenders with you if he could! He is extremely talented and has an enormous personality to match. We are still a relatively new combination but I am hoping to build a strong bond over the coming seasons and eventually progress up the levels and gain invaluable experience together. He loves spending time in the field and constantly whinnies as soon as he gets his turnout rug put on! He knows it's playtime! Beanie was initially bought as a summer project to sell at the end of 2018, however we soon realised that the bigger the fences got, the bigger his jump got! I enjoyed showjumping him earlier this year and he qualified, in very good company, for the winter 6yo championships, which I was extremely proud of. He has recently upgraded well in his eventing and I am looking forwards to moving up the levels as he gets more experienced. I have loved producing Beanie and want to bring more young horses up the levels in the future, as I find it exceptionally rewarding. Beanie loves sleeping (like any teenager) in his stable, and even snores and gallops whilst he dreams!